Limpopo South are the new wheelchair tennis Inter-Provincial Tournament champions following a highly entertaining 2-1 victory over cross-town rivals, Limpopo North as the 2019 event came to a thrilling conclusion at Arthur Ashe Tennis Centre in Soweto on Saturday.

The two teams from the far north province fought tooth and nail to level the tie at 1-1 but it was however Limpopo South team of Danny Mohlamonyane, Luwie Mabelane, Sello Mayipa and Joseph Manzini who emerged as champions following their win in the doubles decider and will now eagerly await the Soweto Open Futures tournament which starts tomorrow until Wednesday at Arthur Ashe Tennis Centre.

The team’s progress is in no small part due to the contribution of the country’s number 3 quad ace Danny Mohlamonyane and great efforts from promising player Luwie Mabelane. This is a huge milestone as the team finished in 14th position in 2018.

Gauteng North’s wheelchair tennis team of Aobakwe Makgotho, Lerato Mathose, Brilliant Mabaso and Harry Mogodi took home the silver medal meanwhile Gauteng North clinched third place following a 2-1 win over defending champions Western Cape in the 3/4 position play-offs.

The event saw over 45 players making up 12 teams representing 8 provinces of the country that battled it out in the tournament sponsored by The Healthy Lifestyle Trust.


Positions                     Province

1                                  Limpopo South

2                                  Limpopo North

3                                  Gauteng North

4                                  Western Cape

5                                  Mpumalanga

6                                  Gauteng Central

7                                  Free State

8                                  Gauteng West

9                                  Eastern Cape

10                                 North West

11                                 Limpopo Central

12                                 Kwa-Zulu Natal

Share this post